NAILBA Announces Winners of 2022 ID Twenty Awards, Honoring 20 Insurance Innovators and Trailblazers

NAILBA, the Voice of Independent Distribution (ID), has announced the 2022 recipients of the ID Twenty Awards, sponsored by Prudential. The ID Twenty Awards honor Independent Distribution’s most courageous innovators and visionaries, who have made important contributions to the insurance profession.

“For the fourth year in a row, we had the pleasure of celebrating the best of BGA principals, carrier executives, case managers, contract specialists, regional vice presidents, underwriters, techies, marketing and operational gurus with the ID Twenty Awards, presented at the Douglas Mooers Award for Excellence Dinner at NAILBA 41,” said NAILBA CEO, Dan LaBert. “These individuals are making their mark on the insurance profession with innovative solutions and a rock solid commitment to our industry and their clients.”

The winners of the 2022 ID Twenty Award are:

  • Douglas Allenbaugh · Executive Vice President · The Marketing Alliance
  • Charles Arnold · Chief Marketing Officer · The Leaders Group
  • Grace Ata · AVP Software Development · Equisoft
  • Farron Blanc · VP, Brokerage Distribution & Strategy · Legal & General America
  • Christopher Bottaro · SVP, Insurance · Valmark Financial Group
  • Phil Chuba · Vice President, National Account Executive, Independent Distribution · Prudential
  • Bruce Donaldson · Chief Executive Officer · Simplicity Group Holdings
  • Jim Duff · President, Tellus Brokerage Connections, Inc & Sr. VP, Crump Life Insurance Services
  • Debra Gangelhoff · VP and General Manager for Life Market · LexisNexis Risk Solutions
  • Jeremy Hallett · Vice President of Quotacy · Highland Capital and Quotacy
  • Luke Kaplan · President, Executive Life and Benefits, Life Insurance and Annuity Brokerage · Gallagher
  • Leah Mahoney, FLMI, PCS, NCCM · Director Of Operations · Diversified Brokerage Services
  • Adam Monteverde · Co-Head of National Accounts · John Hancock Insurance 
  • Martin Schafer · Chief Distribution Officer · Ethos
  • Carlan Snipes  · Pacific Life Field Vice President · Broad Market
  • Lisa Todd · Head of Life & Disability Insurance Distribution · MassMutual Strategic Distributors
  • Kelli Tormey-Grass · Executive Director & Chief of Staff · LIBRA Insurance Partners
  • Todd Villeneuve · Managing Partner · IFC National Marketing
  • Rachel Wender · Managing Director · TAG Financial Institutions Group
  • Kristin Wills · Senior Vice President Marketing · Insurance Technologies

Award winners were acknowledged on the main stage at NAILBA’s in-person annual conference, NAILBA 40, on Tuesday, November 15, 2022. They will also be spotlighted in NAILBA’s Perspectives magazine in the first quarter of 2022. More information about each of the winners can be found within the honorees section of